SSD

I got a couple of gadgets recently. One is the Targus AMB04US Bluetooth mouse at $13. The other is the OCZ OCZSSD2-1VTZPL120G Vertex Plus 120GB SSD drive at about $1/GB, together with a external harddrive enclosure for my 320GB harddisk originally on my laptop.

Originally, I followed the instructions in this post:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/lenovo-ibm/473866-installing-ssd-my-x201s.html
However, two days later I find my system32 folder missing (!) and so I have to recover the system. A day later, some other system files is missing and again Windows failed to boot. I then contacted the tech support of the SSD company and they suggested a fresh install, as opposed to using the Lenovo recovery disk. To do this I have to download the Windows 7 iso image:
http://techpp.com/2009/11/11/download-windows-7-iso-official-direct-download-links/
Then transfer this on to a USB thumb drive with the tool from Microsoft:
http://arstechnica.com/business/news/2009/12/-the-usb-flash-drive.ars

The installation went smoothly, but after that I couldn’t go on to the internet as drivers are missing. I had to download the driver for the wireless interface from another computer to get things started. After that I can download the System Update software from Lenovo, which takes care of other drivers.*

After that it’s time to tweak the system to be SSD friendly:
http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/windows-7/2441-windows-7-ultimate-solid-state-drive-speed-tweaks.html (Although it turns out not every tweak in it is useful)
Few things to highlight: Install a RamDisk (Dataram Ramdisk is pretty good), and put the Chrome Cache on it (using the parameter --user-data-dir="E:\TEMP\User Data"). If you save the ramdisk image to the data disk after re-install the search history will be preserved, which is very good. Also, tell Firefox not to use disk but ram instead for cache (google “firefox ramdisk")

In order to avoid the pain of backup/restore my data, I decided to partition it into system disk and data disk. I then move my user folder (C:\Users\user_name) to the data disk. I first tried this but it doesn’t work for me.
http://lifehacker.com/5467758/move-the-users-directory-in-windows-7
So I fall back to the supported way of doing this: for every folder in my account (Desktop, Downloads, Favorites, My Documents, …) I opened the Properties page and move them in the Location tab. Not fun but it’s the safest way as it is supported.

A bunch of software install follows (the most time consuming part). I’m jotting them down so I can refer to later on if the system needs to be re-installed for whatever reason:
Microsoft Security Essentials
Dataram Ramdisk
Chrome and Firefox
cpime
Skype
Microsoft Office
Adobe reader
PDFXChange viewer
Dropbox
Spotify
miranda-im
7-zip
MikTeX, gsview and ghostscript
Winamp
Putty and WinSCP
Vim and latex plugin
Printer driver
Picasa
JRuler
Windows update
Calibre (ebook management software)
WinSplit Revolution
mpc-hc
uTorrent
WinDJView
iTunes

* Rant about the system update software from Lenovo:
1. It still doesn’t support 64-bit system directly — it’s relying on the Windows XP compatibility mode, even after a few years.
2. For some reason the power manager doesn’t install, which means I have to do it manually.

2 回應 to “SSD”

  1. c Says:

    I think once you install driver for the wireless adapter, Windows Update should be able to find all the rest drivers, i.e. system update software from Lenovo is not needed. But I never used your model. So I may be wrong.

  2. Tom Chan Says:

    That may work too but I haven’t tried so I’m not sure.

發表迴響

